CHAPTER 311

COPYRIGHT ACT

SUBSIDIARY LEGISLATION

	List of Subsidiary Legislation					
1.	Copyright (Specified Countries) Order	Page 83				

LAWS OF SAINT VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES REVISED EDITION

COPYRIGHT (SPECIFIED COUNTRIES) ORDER

SRO 16 of 2005

Printed and published with the authority of the Government of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

COPYRIGHT (SPECIFIED COUNTRIES) ORDER

ARRANGEMENT OF ORDERS

ORDER

- 1. Citation.
- 2. Specified countries.
- 3. Proof of status as a Berne Convention country.
- 4. Effect of specifying countries.

SCHEDULE

COPYRIGHT (SPECIFIED COUNTRIES) ORDER

In exercise of the power conferred by sections 2(1) and 6(11) of the Copyright Act (No. 21 of 2003), the Minister makes the following Order.

[SRO 16 of 2005.]

[Date of commencement: 2nd August, 2005.]

1. Citation

This Order may be cited as the Copyright (Specified Countries) Order, 2005.

2. Specified countries

- (1) The countries specified in the Schedule to this Order, being members of the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works of 1886 as revised and amended, are hereby declared to be specified countries for the purposes of copyright protection in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.
- (2) Where a country becomes a party to the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works of 1886, as revised and amended, after the commencement of this Order, the provisions of, and the benefits of copyright protection conferred by, this Order shall apply to such country with effect from the date it becomes a party to the Convention.

3. Proof of status as a Berne Convention country

Any circular, notice or list which may be issued by the World Intellectual Property Organisation from time to time, setting out the countries which are parties to the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works, and the dates on which such countries became parties to the Convention, shall be sufficient proof of a country's membership of the Convention for the purposes of paragraph 2(2) of this Order.

4. Effect of specifying countries

The provisions of the Copyright Act shall apply—

- (a) in relation to persons who, at a material time, are citizens or subjects of a country specified in the Schedule, as they apply in relation to persons who, at such a time, are citizens of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines;
- (b) in relation to persons who, at a material time, are domiciled or resident in a country specified in the Schedule, as they apply in relation to persons who, at such a time, are domiciled or resident in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines;
- (c) in relation to literary, dramatic, musical or artistic works, sound recordings, films or editions first published in a country specified in the Schedule, as they apply in relation to literary, dramatic, musical or artistic works, sound recordings, films or editions first published in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines;
- (d) in relation to bodies incorporated by or under the laws of a country specified in the Schedule, as they apply in relation to bodies incorporated by or under the laws of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines;
- (e) in relation to broadcasts made or cable programmes sent from places in a country specified in the Schedule by persons permitted or authorised by or under the laws of that country to make those broadcasts or send those programmes, as they apply in relation to broadcasts made or cable programmes sent from places in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines by persons permitted or authorised by or under the laws of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines to make those broadcasts or send those cable programmes.

SCHEDULE

[Paragraph 2(1).]

Albania

Algeria

Andorra

Antigua and Barbuda

Argentina

Armenia

Australia

Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahamas

Bahrain

Bangladesh

Barbados

SCHEDULE-continued

Belarus
Belgium
Belize
Benin
Bhutan
Bolivia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Botswana
Brazil
Bulgaria
Burkina Faso
Cameroon
Canada
Cape Verde
Central African Republic
Chad
Chile
China, including the Special Administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau
Colombia
Comoros
Congo
Costa Rica
Croatia
Cuba
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Cote d'Ivoire
Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Denmark
Djibouti
Dominica
Dominican Republic
Ecuador
Egypt
El Salvador

SCHEDULE—continued

atoria	

Estonia

Fiji

Finland

France

Gabon

Georgia

Germany

Ghana

Greece

Grenada

Guatemala

Guinea

Guinea-Bissau

Guyana

Haiti

Holy See

Honduras

Hungary

Iceland

India

Indonesia

Ireland

Israel

Italy

Jamaica

Japan

Jordan

Kazakhstan

Kenva

Kyrgyzstan

Latvia

Lebanon

Lesotho

Liberia

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

SCHEDULE—continued

Lithuania
Luxemburg
Madagascar
Malawi
Malaysia
Mali

Liechtenstein

Malta

Mauritania Mauritius

Mexico

Micronesia (Federated States of)

Monaco Mongolia

Morocco

Namibia

Netherlands

New Zealand

Nicaragua

Niger

Nigeria

Norway

Oman

Pakistan

Panama Paraguay

Peru

Philippines

Poland

Portugal

Qatar

Republic of Korea

Republic of Moldova

Romania

Russian Federation

Rwanda

Saint Kitts and Nevis

	SCHEDULE—continued
Saint Lucia	
Saudi Arabia	
Senegal	
Serbia and Montenegro	
Singapore	
Slovakia	
Slovenia	
South Africa	
Spain	
Sri Lanka	
Sudan	
Suriname	
Swaziland	
Sweden	
Switzerland	
Syrian Arab Republic	
Tajikistan	
Thailand	
The former Yugoslav Repu	blic of Macedonia
The Gambia	
Togo	
Tonga	
Trinidad and Tobago	
Tunisia	
Turkey	
Ukraine	
United Arab Emirates	
United Kingdom	
United Republic of Tanzan	ia
United States of America	
Uruguay	
Uzbekistan	
Venezuela	
Viet Nam	
Yugoslavia	

Zambia Zimbabwe