Reprint as at 13 September 2014



Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2012

(SR 2012/189)

Rt Hon Dame Sian Elias, Administrator of the Government

Order in Council

At Wellington this 23rd day of July 2012

Present:

Her Excellency the Administrator of the Government in Council

Pursuant to section 77 of the Patents Act 1953, section 20 of the Designs Act 1953, and section 200 of the Trade Marks Act 2002, Her Excellency the Administrator of the Government makes the following order—

- (a) for the purpose of giving effect to an international agreement or arrangement to which New Zealand is a party or that applies to New Zealand; and
- (b) acting on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council.

Changes authorised by subpart 2 of Part 2 of the Legislation Act 2012 have been made in this official reprint.

Note 4 at the end of this reprint provides a list of the amendments incorporated.

This order is administered by the Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment.

Note

1	n	n	1	_	n	1	c
•	 .,			-			ч

		Page
1	Title	2
2	Commencement	2
3	Convention countries	2
4	Revocation	2
	Schedule	2
	Convention countries	

Order

1 **Title**

This order is the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2012.

2 Commencement

This order comes into force on 23 August 2012.

3 **Convention countries**

Each of the entities named in the Schedule is a convention country for the purposes of all the provisions of the Patents Act 2013, the Designs Act 1953, and the Trade Marks Act 2002.

Clause 3: amended, on 13 September 2013, by section 249 of the Patents Act 2013 (2013 No 68).

4 Revocation

The Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2000 (SR 2000/236) is revoked.

Schedule **Convention countries**

cl 3

African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO)

African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI)

Albania

Algeria

Andorra

Angola

Antigua and Barbuda

Argentina

Armenia

Australia (and Norfolk Island)

Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahamas

Bahrain

Bangladesh

Barbados

Belarus

Belgium

Belize

Benelux Office for Intellectual Property (BOIP)

Benin

Bhutan

Bolivia, Plurinational State of

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Botswana

Brazil

Brunei Darussalam

Bulgaria

Burkina Faso

Burundi

Cambodia

Cameroon

Canada

Cape Verde

Central African Republic

Chad

Chile

China

Colombia

Comoros

Congo

Congo, Democratic Republic of

Costa Rica

Côte d'Ivoire

Croatia

Cuba

Cyprus

Czech Republic

Denmark (and Faroe Islands)

Djibouti

Dominica

Dominican Republic

Ecuador

Egypt, Arab Republic of

El Salvador

Equatorial Guinea

Estonia

Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO)

European Patent Office (EPO)

European Union

Fiji

Finland

France (including all overseas departments and territories)

Gabon

Gambia

Georgia

Germany, Federal Republic of

Ghana

Greece

Grenada

Guatemala

Guinea

Guinea-Bissau

Guyana

Haiti

Holy See (Vatican City)

Honduras

Hong Kong, China

Hungary

Iceland

India

Indonesia

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Iraq

Ireland

Israel

Italy

Jamaica

т

Japan

Jordan

Kazakhstan Kenya

Korea, Democratic People's Republic of

Korea, Republic of

Kuwait

Kyrgyz Republic

Lao People's Democratic Republic

Latvia

Lebanon

Lesotho

Liberia

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Liechtenstein

Lithuania

Luxembourg

Macau, China

Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of

Madagascar

Malawi

Malaysia

Maldives

Mali

Malta

Mauritania

Mauritius

Mexico

Moldova, Republic of

Monaco

Mongolia

Montenegro

Morocco

Mozambique

Myanmar

Namibia

Nepal

Netherlands, Kingdom of the

Nicaragua

Niger

Nigeria

Norway

Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (Trade Marks and

Designs) (OHIM)

Oman

Pakistan

Panama

Papua New Guinea

Paraguay

Patent Office of the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (GCC Patent Office)

Peru

Philippines

Poland

Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira)

Qatar

Romania

Russian Federation

Rwanda

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Samoa

San Marino

São Tomé and Principe

Saudi Arabia

Senegal

Serbia

Seychelles

Sierra Leone

Singapore

Slovak Republic

Slovenia

Solomon Islands

South Africa

Spain (and colonies)

Sri Lanka

Sudan

Suriname

Swaziland

Sweden

Switzerland

Syrian Arab Republic

Taiwan

Tajikistan

Tanzania, United Republic of

Thailand

Togo

Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisia

Turkey

Turkmenistan

Uganda

Ukraine

United Arab Emirates

United Kingdom (and the Isle of Man)

United States of America (and all territories and possessions of the

United States, including Puerto Rico)

Uruguay

Uzbekistan

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of

Vietnam

Yemen

Zambia

Zimbabwe

Rebecca Kitteridge, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Issued under the authority of the Legislation Act 2012. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 26 July 2012.

8

Reprints notes

1 General

This is a reprint of the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2012 that incorporates all the amendments to that order as at the date of the last amendment to it.

2 Legal status

Reprints are presumed to correctly state, as at the date of the reprint, the law enacted by the principal enactment and by any amendments to that enactment. Section 18 of the Legislation Act 2012 provides that this reprint, published in electronic form, has the status of an official version under section 17 of that Act. A printed version of the reprint produced directly from this official electronic version also has official status.

3 Editorial and format changes

Editorial and format changes to reprints are made using the powers under sections 24 to 26 of the Legislation Act 2012. See also http://www.pco.parliament.govt.nz/editorial-conventions/.

4 Amendments incorporated in this reprint

Patents Act 2013 (2013 No 68): section 249