

Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2012

Rt Hon Dame Sian Elias, Administrator of the Government

Order in Council

At Wellington this 23rd day of July 2012

Present:

Her Excellency the Administrator of the Government in Council

Pursuant to section 77 of the Patents Act 1953, section 20 of the Designs Act 1953, and section 200 of the Trade Marks Act 2002, Her Excellency the Administrator of the Government makes the following order—

- (a) for the purpose of giving effect to an international agreement or arrangement to which New Zealand is a party or that applies to New Zealand; and
- (b) acting on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council.

Contents

Page

1	Title	2
2	Commencement	2
3	Convention countries	2
4	Revocation	2

2

Schedule Convention countries

Order

1 Title

This order is the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2012.

2 Commencement

This order comes into force on 23 August 2012.

3 Convention countries

Each of the entities named in the Schedule is a convention country for the purposes of all the provisions of the Patents Act 1953, the Designs Act 1953, and the Trade Marks Act 2002.

4 Revocation

The Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2000 (SR 2000/236) is revoked.

Schedule Convention countries

cl 3

African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI) African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO) Albania Algeria Andorra Andorra Angola Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Australia (and Norfolk Island)

Austria

2

Schedule

Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benelux Office for Intellectual Property (BOIP) Benin Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, Democratic Republic of Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Croatia

Schedule

2012/189

Cuba Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark (and Faroe Islands) Djibouti Dominica **Dominican Republic** Ecuador Egypt, Arab Republic of El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Estonia Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO) European Patent Office (EPO) European Union Fiji Finland France (including all overseas departments and territories) Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany, Federal Republic of Ghana Greece Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See (Vatican City) Honduras Hong Kong, China Hungary

4

Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2012

Schedule

Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyz Republic Lao People's Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau, China Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta

Schedule

2012/189

Mauritania Mauritius Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nepal Netherlands, Kingdom of the Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Norway Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (Trade Marks and Designs) (OHIM) Oman Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Patent Office of the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (GCC Patent Office) Peru Philippines Poland Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira) Qatar Romania **Russian Federation** Rwanda Saint Kitts and Nevis

Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2012

Schedule

Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino São Tomé and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovak Republic Slovenia Solomon Islands South Africa Spain (and colonies) Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Togo Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Uganda

Explanatory note

Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2012

2012/189

Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom (and the Isle of Man) United States of America (and all territories and possessions of the United States, including Puerto Rico) Uruguay Uzbekistan Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

> Rebecca Kitteridge, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory note

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on 23 August 2012, specifies the entities that are convention countries for the purposes of the Patents Act 1953, the Designs Act 1953, and the Trade Marks Act 2002. It brings up to date and replaces the list of convention countries in the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 2000.

The changes made to the 2000 order are as follows:

- countries that have signed the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property (Andorra, Bhutan, Comoros, Serbia, Seychelles, and Yemen) or joined the World Trade Organization (Cape Verde and Samoa) or both (Montenegro, Nepal, Saudi Arabia, and Tonga) are added:
- certain intellectual property offices and organisations in countries that are members of either the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property or the World Trade Organization are added:

- the reference to Bolivia is replaced with a reference to the Plurinational State of Bolivia:
- the reference to Equador is replaced with a reference to Ecuador:
- the reference to European Communities is replaced with a reference to the European Union:
- the reference to the Republic of Kyrgyzstan is replaced with a reference to the Kyrgyz Republic:
- the reference to the Netherlands (and Netherlands Antilles and Aruba) is replaced with a reference to the Kingdom of the Netherlands:
- the reference to Venezuela is replaced with a reference to the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

The order is in force in Tokelau by virtue of sections 6 and 7 of the Tokelau Act 1948, section 118 of the Patents Act 1953, section 50 of the Designs Act 1953, and section 86 of the repealed Trade Marks Act 1953.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 26 July 2012. This order is administered by the Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment.