TRADE MARKS ORDINANCE (AMENDMENT OF SCHEDULE 1) REGULATION 2009

(Made by the Chief Executive in Council under section 92 of the Trade Marks Ordinance (Cap. 559))

1. Commencement

This Regulation comes into operation on 26 February 2010.

2. Paris Convention countries and WTO members

- (1) Schedule 1 to the Trade Marks Ordinance (Cap. 559) is amended in the list under the heading "Countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention" by repealing "The State of Bahrain" and substituting "The Kingdom of Bahrain".
- (2) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention", in the English text, by repealing "The Republic of Malta" and substituting "Malta".
- (3) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention" by repealing "The Kingdom of Nepal" and substituting "The Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal".
- (4) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention"
 - (a) by repealing "Serbia and Montenegro";
 - (b) by adding "Montenegro";
 - (c) by adding "The Republic of Serbia".
- (5) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention" by repealing "Spain" and substituting "The Kingdom of Spain".
- (6) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention"
 - (a) by repealing "The Republic of Syprus (Cyprus)";
 - (b) by adding "The Republic of Cyprus".
- (7) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention", in the English text, by repealing "The Bolivar Republic of Venezuela" and substituting "The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela".

- (8) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention", in the Chinese text, by repealing "利比里亞" and substituting "利比里亞共和國".
- (9) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention" by adding
 - (a) "The Republic of Angola";
 - (b) "The Kingdom of Thailand";
 - (c) "The Republic of Yemen".
- (10) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries, territories and areas which have acceded to the World Trade Organization Agreement" by repealing "The State of Bahrain" and substituting "The Kingdom of Bahrain".
- (11) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries, territories and areas which have acceded to the World Trade Organization Agreement", in the English text, by repealing "The Republic of Malta" and substituting "Malta".
- (12) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries, territories and areas which have acceded to the World Trade Organization Agreement" by repealing "The Kingdom of Nepal" and substituting "The Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal".
- (13) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries, territories and areas which have acceded to the World Trade Organization Agreement" by repealing "Spain" and substituting "The Kingdom of Spain".
- (14) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries, territories and areas which have acceded to the World Trade Organization Agreement"
 - (a) by repealing "The Republic of Syprus (Cyprus)";
 - (b) by adding "The Republic of Cyprus".
- (15) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries, territories and areas which have acceded to the World Trade Organization Agreement", in the English text, by repealing "Royal Thai (Thailand)" and substituting "The Kingdom of Thailand".
- (16) Schedule 1 is amended in the list under the heading "Countries, territories and areas which have acceded to the World Trade Organization Agreement", in the English text, by repealing "The Bolivar Republic of Venezuela" and substituting "The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela".

(17) Schedule 1	is amended	l in the lis	t under the	heading	"Countries,	territories	and ar	eas
which have acceded to	the World	Trade Or	ganization	Agreeme	e nt'' by addir	ng –		

- (a) "The Republic of Cape Verde";
- (b) "The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia";
- (c) "The Kingdom of Tonga";
- (d) "Ukraine";
- (e) "The Socialist Republic of Viet Nam".

Manda CHAN
Clerk to the Executive Council

COUNCIL CHAMBER 8 December 2009

Explanatory Note

This Regulation updates the lists of countries which have acceded to the Paris Convention and countries, territories and areas which have acceded to the World Trade Organization Agreement.